U.S. stocking partner for Olivaro1-2 droppers a day · 30 mL bottleFree U.S. shipping on 3 and 6 bottles60-day money-back
Order now

Ingredient profile

The 8 Amino Acids in Olivaro: Gram-Size Studies, Milligram Shares

Quick answer

Olivaro lists eight amino acids near the end of its 200 mg blend. Studies of carnitine used 2-3 g a day (NIH ODS, Carnitine), and arginine and beta-alanine studies used grams too (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance). A full day of Olivaro holds at most 400 mg for all 22 blend items. Take care with L-tryptophan alongside serotonin drugs (Drugs.com, L-tryptophan). No verified source was found for GABA, tyrosine or ornithine.

Written by the Olivaro editorial teamUpdated

The list

Which amino acids are in Olivaro?

Eight of the 22 blend items are amino acids or close relatives. All sit in the lower half of the label.

  • 14th L-Glutamine
  • 15th L-Tyrosine
  • 16th L-Arginine Base
  • 17th Beta-Alanine
  • 19th GABA
  • 20th L-Ornithine HCL
  • 21st L-Tryptophan
  • 22nd L-Carnitine Base

The licorice compound sits 18th, between them. It is covered on the coleus forskohlii page.

Six amber Olivaro dropper bottles with cream labels
Six bottles hold 180 droppers. Even at that volume, the eight amino acids share a slice of a blend that tops out at 400 mg a day.

Dose

How do the amounts compare with studies?

Amino acid studies measure grams. Olivaro's whole blend is 200 mg per dropper (21 CFR 101.36 (eCFR)). The bars use the average share of about 18 mg a day at 2 droppers.

Each bar compares what 2 droppers a day can supply with the low end of the research dose. Chromium is printed on the label. For blend ingredients we use the average share, 400 mg divided by 22, about 18 mg; the real amount of any one ingredient is not disclosed and could be higher or lower. Studies tested each ingredient alone, not Olivaro.

Even if the whole blend were one amino acid, it would fall short of every studied range.

Profiles

All eight amino acids at a glance

In label order. Missing sources are marked.

L-glutamine in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance)
Label nameL-Glutamine
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list14 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studiesAbout 15-45 g a day (sports studies)
Strength of evidenceNot supported for performance
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forGenerally well tolerated in studied doses.
L-tyrosine in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: no verified source found
Label nameL-Tyrosine
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list15 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studiesNo verified dose source
Strength of evidenceNot established
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forNo verified safety source found; ask your doctor if you take thyroid or MAOI drugs.
L-arginine in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: (MSKCC, Arginine) (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance)
Label nameL-Arginine Base
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list16 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studies2-20 g a day (sports studies)
Strength of evidenceLittle or no performance benefit
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forCan lower blood pressure.
Beta-alanine in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance)
Label nameBeta-Alanine
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list17 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studies1.6-6.4 g a day
Strength of evidenceMixed (exercise only)
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forHarmless tingling at 800 mg or more, unlikely here.
GABA in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: no verified source found
Label nameGABA (Gamma amino butyric acid)
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list19 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studiesNo verified dose source
Strength of evidenceNot established
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forNo verified safety source found.
L-ornithine in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: no verified source found
Label nameL-Ornithine HCL
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list20 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studiesNo verified dose source
Strength of evidenceNot established
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forNo verified safety source found.
L-tryptophan in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: (NORD, Eosinophilia-Myalgia Syndrome) (Drugs.com, L-tryptophan)
Label nameL-Tryptophan
What it isAmino acid
Place in the label list21 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studiesNo blood sugar dose established
Strength of evidenceNot established
Marketed or traditional useAmino acid
Watch forDo not combine with MAOIs or other serotonin drugs without advice.
L-carnitine in Olivaro: what the label says, beside the research. Sources: (NIH ODS, Carnitine)
Label nameL-Carnitine Base
What it isAmino acid derivative
Place in the label list22 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight)
Amount per dropperNot disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend.
Dose used in studies2-3 g a day (type 2 diabetes studies)
Strength of evidenceSome glucose improvement; more trials needed
Marketed or traditional useFat metabolism
Watch forFishy odor and stomach upset at about 3 g.

L-tryptophan

Is L-tryptophan safe with antidepressants?

It needs a doctor's advice first. L-tryptophan should not be combined with MAO inhibitors, tramadol, dextromethorphan, meperidine or sedatives without medical guidance. That also applies to other serotonin-raising supplements such as 5-HTP and St. John's wort (Drugs.com, L-tryptophan).

It also has a history. In 1989, an outbreak of eosinophilia-myalgia syndrome (EMS) was linked to manufactured L-tryptophan. It affected more than 1,500 people, and 37 deaths were linked to it. Nearly all cases traced back to one maker's product, and FDA issued a recall in November 1989 (NORD, Eosinophilia-Myalgia Syndrome).

On a serotonin drug?

Show the Olivaro label to your prescriber or pharmacist before the first dropper. L-tryptophan sits 21st, so the amount is small, but it is not printed.

L-arginine

Does L-arginine affect blood pressure?

Yes, it can lower it. Arginine may add to blood pressure medicines, and after an acute heart attack it may raise the risk of death (MSKCC, Arginine). Exercise studies saw diarrhea, nausea and slightly lower pressure at 9-30 g a day (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance).

Olivaro's share is far below those grams. Heart patients should still mention it.

Try Olivaro with a 60-day guarantee1-2 droppers a day · from $49 a bottle · free U.S. shipping on 3 or 6 bottles

Order now

L-carnitine

What did carnitine studies in type 2 diabetes find?

Some improvement in fasting glucose, with a call for larger trials. Studies in type 2 diabetes used about 2-3 g a day; a broader analysis used 0.25-4 g (NIH ODS, Carnitine). The body makes carnitine, so healthy people generally do not need it.

At about 3 g, carnitine can cause nausea, cramps, diarrhea and a fishy body odor (NIH ODS, Carnitine). Olivaro lists it last, the smallest share in the blend. Never change a diabetes medicine without talking to your doctor first.

Gaps

What about GABA, tyrosine, ornithine and the rest?

See the Olivaro side effects page.

FAQ

Amino acids FAQ

What amino acids are in Olivaro?

Olivaro lists eight: L-glutamine, L-tyrosine, L-arginine, beta-alanine, GABA, L-ornithine, L-tryptophan and L-carnitine. All are part of the 200 mg proprietary blend, in the lower half of the label. None has its own printed amount, so each share is unknown.

Can L-tryptophan interact with my medication?

Yes. L-tryptophan should not be combined with MAO inhibitors, tramadol, dextromethorphan, meperidine, sedatives or other serotonin-raising supplements without medical advice (Drugs.com, L-tryptophan). The amount in Olivaro is not printed, so ask your prescriber before starting if you take any of these.

How much L-carnitine is in Olivaro?

The label does not say. L-carnitine is the last of 22 blend items, the smallest share by weight. Type 2 diabetes studies used about 2-3 g a day (NIH ODS, Carnitine), while Olivaro's whole blend holds at most 400 mg a day.

Is L-arginine safe for people with heart disease?

It needs a doctor's view. Arginine can lower blood pressure, may add to blood pressure drugs, and may raise the risk of death after an acute heart attack (MSKCC, Arginine). Olivaro's share is small, but people with heart disease should share the label with their cardiologist.

Does GABA in Olivaro help with stress or sleep?

We could not verify any reliable dose or safety source for GABA at the amount Olivaro could contain. The label does not print its share, and it sits 19th in the blend. We will not suggest a benefit we cannot support.

Who wrote this

Written and reviewed by

Written byThe Olivaro editorial teamOlivarosugar, U.S. stocking partner for Olivaro

Plain-language pages built from the label, the sales page and linked public health sources.

Medically reviewed byDr. Edward Rico, MD, MBA, FACE, MD, PhysicianRole: Medical reviewerReview date: October 12, 2026

Page updated . See our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by a U.S. stocking partner, not by the manufacturer. Purchases through our order links earn us money.

U.S. stocking partner for Olivaro

Ready to try Olivaro?

Pick a pack. One dropper a day, and every pack covers the 30 days of use the guarantee asks for before a claim.

  • Secure checkout
  • 60-day money-back
  • Ships from the U.S.
Three amber Olivaro dropper bottles with cream labels

Olivaro 30 mL dropsFrom $49 a bottle · free U.S. shipping on 3+ bottles · 60-day refund window

Order now